recipe · Uncategorized

Zoodles with Lemon Salmon Alfredo

Since switching over to eating a ketogenic lifestyle pasta is off of the table. I had tried zoodles before but honestly was thoroughly unimpressed. I have a rule though that I like to try something at least 3 different ways before I write it off and I am so glad that I did because this hit the spot!

Ingredients

1 salmon filet

2 tablespoons coconut oil or butter

1 lemon

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

1/2 cup parmesean

1 skinny zucchini or 1 1/2 cup spiralized zucchini

 

This is so crazy easy to make and that says a lot coming from me! When I am eating alone I just want to sit back and eat the easiest stuff possible to make. Plus side is that this reheats really well too!

Over medium heat put oil in a frying pan. Once oil is melted add salmon to pan and the juice from 1 lemon. Cover with a lid and cook for 3-5 minutes until it starts to brown then flip for another 1-2 minutes. The salmon will be done when it actually turns a salmon pink (I know, cheesy joke but seriously it comes from somewhere)

Once the salmon is cooked add heavy whipping cream in the pan and bring to a simmer for 1-2 minutes. Turn the heat to low and add the rest of the ingredients and stir. Spiralized zucchini cooks quickly so it will only take a few minutes to soften so a lot of the time I will just turn off the temp and put the lid on it and just let it sit for a minute.

One thing that I love is that I can add things to this and it will make such a huge difference! For instance bacon or smoked paprika, how about dill or even a bit of the lemon zest. It all depends on your mood for the day. What would you add?

Leave a Reply

