recipe · Uncategorized

Gluten Free Bechamel Asparagus

 

I grew up being the only person in my family who could not make a decent white sauce. Really! I always was too impatient and it always burned or came out clumpy to my dismay. My grandma made the best tuna casserole and mine never tasted as good as when she made it. I could say that it’s because it was lacking in love or that extra grandmotherly touch but in all honesty it’s just because I am not a patient person.

As my way of eating shifted I wanted to make a good bechamel sauce that I could use for putting on vegetables, meats, mock pasta… and after playing around a bit I have hit the jackpot! I had my parents coming over for dinner and the only meat in the fridge was pork chops. This made such a great sauce for them. This is so good! I know that a few of the ingredients will sound a bit odd but I promise you it is worth the risk of making it.

 


Bechamel Asparagus

1 bundle of asparagus (around 20 spears)

2 Tablespoons butter

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 oz cream cheese

1/4 teaspoon prepared mustard

Dash of salt, pepper and nutmeg

1 1/2 cup cheddar

 

First preheat oven to 400F and line baking sheet with parchment paper. Place butter in a sauce pan and allow to brown. I keep an eye on it but also listen closely. Butter is very noisy as it starts to brown and is perfectly browned just as it becomes silent. Browning the butter will give you a lot of flavor and will be how you will have this taste like traditional bechamel.

While the butter is browning snap off the woody ends of the asparagus and place half with the tips facing one direction and the other half facing the opposite direction. Once butter is browned add all of the ingredients except for the cheddar and bring to a boil. Stir for 2-4 minutes or until the sauce starts to thicken.

At this point if I was using the sauce as just a sauce I would add the cheddar into the sauce after turning off the heat but for this I am going to pour the sauce over the asparagus and sprinkle the cheese over top to give us the crispy edges. Yes please!!!!

Bake for 15 minutes and enjoy!

bechemal

 

Leave a Reply

