Uncategorized · uplifting

Distancing Yourself from Negativity

negativity

Ever notice that when things start going wrong in your life that it just keeps spiraling down? Mentally it’s hard not to sink in despair and just give in. We tend to forget that the more we focus on something the more we attract of it.

The first time that someone told me to read The Secret I just laughed. I seriously laughed. I tried reading the first bit and I just couldn’t. I wasn’t in the right mind set to take it for what it was and take the parts that really mattered. That in life if we focus on something we are more likely to notice the opportunities for it.

For example say that you have saved up and just gotten your dream car. All of a sudden you start to notice more and more of them on the road. It’s like they multiplied suddenly! But if you are driving a car that you hate and are sick of you notice the nice cars instead of your car.

We are only capable of acting in according to the things that we notice. Negativity and positivity are not necessarily drawn to us but instead are opportunities that we notice because we are choosing to think that way.

Is your negativity people? Behaviors? Self doubt? What about your positivity?

For those of you who don’t know me very well I would love to tell a little bit about me. Some may decide that you don’t care much for me after reading it but please read until the end. I promise it will be worth it.

collge3

When I was in college I was a bartender. I had grown up not drinking and didn’t start until I was 18. In the state of Idaho you only have to be 19 to serve alcohol so I was bartending before I was even old enough to drink. When I was 20 I had my sober driver get pulled over for a tail light and I was ticketed with under age drinking.

I was crushed and fell apart but picked myself up and straightened up my act. Needing to still pay my bills I went onto probation but still was working at the night club. If I could make it through all of my probation without any problems the charge would disappear from my record. Sounds great right?

college4

Literally hours before my probation ended I had a 20 year old be served alcohol by using his brothers identification card. It destroyed all chances of my record being clean again. I wanted to be a teacher but didn’t see the point in finishing school because no school would be allowed to hire me with serving alcohol to a minor on my record. Choosing to drop out of college instead of continuing to rack up student loans when using the degree was impossible left me feeling lost and confused.

Did you know that in most states you can’t work anywhere that sells alcohol with that kind of record? Even fast food places often times offer bear! I have fertility issues and what adoption agency would allow me to adopt with that kind of record? Every place that I would apply to saw that on my application and figured that I was irresponsible and a liability to hire. One mistake and it literally changed my life.

college

I’m not going to lie that sometimes that road block crushes me. I’ve had moments of depression where I didn’t know how I was going to dig my finances out of their mess because I couldn’t be hired and you know what? When I focused on things like that and let myself get down nothing ever got better!

There are lots of good people in the world who have been willing to overlook my past and see who I am today and help me. If that did not happen I don’t think I would have ever been brave enough to start my own business. I don’t think I would have ever met my husband who has been my rock. When I chose to change my mindset and cut out the negativity in my life I started to change and open up to see the wonderful opportunities that have come of a bad situation.

 

Leave a Reply

