Health · Uncategorized · uplifting

5 Easy Ways to Relieve Stress Immediately

“STRESS” Oh my word it is a dirty 6 letter word isn’t it? Just reading it makes me feel stressed. My favorite is when you tell someone that you are feeling stressed and they tell you to get over it. Ummmm… if it was that easy I don’t think you would be feeling stressed already now would you?

Let me help you out. These are 5 suggestions that you can do anytime to help reduce how stressed you are right away!

wriring

1. Write it down.

I know, you think  I am crazy but I promise it helps! It can be in a journal or making a list of what you need to do but getting it out of your head where it’s been circling and driving you crazy helps so much! You literally are putting the stress from your head onto paper where you can better judge it and prioritize. It’s so much easier to figure out what to do when you can see it in front of you and you don’t have to try to remember everything.

breathe

2. Breathe

I can wait for you to roll your eyes here. Go ahead… it’s ok. Done? OK, so breathe. Often times when you are the most stressed you are not anywhere that you can stop. You are typically in the middle of what is stressing you out but taking just a few seconds to yourself and centering can do wonders! I’m not saying that you need to meditate for an hour (but maybe later give it a try, it will help!) but take just a few times of breathing in for 5 seconds and out for 5 seconds with a clear mind and you will be amazed at how much clearer your mind is.

food

3. Drink water or eat something fresh.

If you are anything like me then you might be a stress eater. What do we go for though when we are stressed? Chocolate, chips, salty or sweet. As comforting as it might be in the moment those foods tend to ultimately give us foggy brain and make us feel even worse. Think being stressed is bad enough, how about add on a sugar crash or feeling like you will puke on top of it! Water or fresh fruits or veggies can help clear your mind and help you get on top of what you are stressing about. Listen to your body. You may be handling something badly mentally because you are dehydrated, your iron is low or you are just running low on energy. Re-fuel and you wont regret it!

happy

4. Practice Mindfulness.

When is the last time that you intentionally found contentment in your everyday life? Have you ever put forth actual effort in finding something good about today? When we get stressed out we let it overrule the positive things in the day and ultimately our attitude rules what happens that day. Take a minute and think about as many things that have gone right today as you possibly can. Maybe write them down. Can’t think of any? Then actively engage yourself in looking for something good today. Don’t let it pass you by just because you weren’t looking for it.

bike

5. Do some sort of exercise.

I promise I am not asking you to go out and run 5 miles (unless that’s your thing then go for it!) but instead I am suggesting for you to get your body moving. As Elle Woods says in Legally Blonde, “People who exercise have endorphin’s, endorphin’s make you happy and happy people just don’t kill people” I’m not saying that you are so stressed that you are actually going to kill someone but the science behind it is legit. Take a quick walk around your works building or just stretch your legs in your home or office. I promise it will help.

 

39 thoughts on “5 Easy Ways to Relieve Stress Immediately

  1. Wonderful tips! I love your suggestion to write down everything that has gone well that day. My day has already started out a little stressful – I’m going to go do that right now! 🙂
    I also like your suggestion to write down your stress. I find that when I’m really overwhelmed by everything I have to do, it helps to make a list. First, I brain dump everything on my to-do list. Then I decide if everything *needs* to be done, and cross some nonessentials off my list. Getting everything down on paper helps me feel more organized, strategic, and in control.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great post and stress is something we need to learn to manage daily! “Write it down” that’s a big one…it helps me to relax, knowing that I won’t forget something important. Easier said than done sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol it really is easier said than done but it really is such a huge help! I never thought I would become a list or planner person but I totally have! One of the many surprises of becoming a grown up

      Like

  3. These are great! I especially like to exercise. It really helps with my stress. I also like to clean. When I get stressed. It makes me feel like I can accomplish or control something. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are seriously a woman after my own heart! I own a house cleaning company and I find cleaning so calming. It’s like it is cleaning out my mind and I can organize things up there while I clean.

      Like

  4. I need to try something. I’m under so much stress from stupid work drama that I’m seriously ready to quit. This is a great list and I’ll probably start exercising today. Hopefully it will relieve some of this tension….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Exercising really helps me, plus it helps me sleep! I will say, I had a hard time getting the right motivation to exercise, but once I got it, I do it often.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are so simple, yet somehow it seems most people forget and become bundles of stress…I know I have before! My favorite suggestions are to drink water and do some sort of exercise…I speak from personal experience for how these have helped me de-stress!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. These are all great tips. Drinking water really helps for me. I usually realize too that the days I get stressed are the days I haven’t had enough water. Maybe that tells me I should really make sure to get in my water so that I don’t get stressed…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

